Public Holidays in Indonesia (and Bali) for 2010


festThere is always a festival of some kind happening in Bali every day. A majority are temple festivals but there are those special dates in the Balinese Calendar that are respected. Besides the Balinese festival days and public holidays, there are numerous celebratory days around Indonesia

To help you with some of these dates and to give you an idea if these festival days are happening when you are in Bali, below is the list of public holidays in Indonesia and Bali for 2010. The one I am especially looking forward to is Nyepi as it has been quite a few years since I last enjoyed the celebrations. Candika, being Chinese-Javanese always celebrates Chinese New Year.

• Friday, January 01, 2010 – New Years Day

• Sunday, February 14, 2010 – Chinese New Year (Imlek 2516)

• Friday, February 26, 2010 – Birthday of the Prophet Muhammad

• Tuesday, March 16, 2010 – Hari Raya Nyepi Tahun Baru 1932 (Bali’s Official day of Silence – Hindu New Years Day)

• Friday, April 2, 2010 – Good Friday

• Sunday, April 4, 2010 – Easter Sunday

• Wednesday, May 12, 2010 – Hari Raya Galungan

DOWNLOAD OUR TRAVEL GUIDES

FOR FREE

 

• Thursday, May 13, 2010 – The Ascension of Jesus Christ in Heaven

• Saturday, May 22, 2010 – Hari Raya Kuningan

• Friday, May 28, 1020 – Hari Raya Waisak 2554

• Saturday, July 10, 2010 – Isra Mi’raj Prophet Mohammad SAW, Celebrating the Ascension of The Prophet Muhammad

• Tuesday, August 17, 2010 – Indonesian Independence Day

• Thursdays, September 9, 2010 – Shared Holiday by Government Decree

• Friday & Saturday, September 10-11, 2010 – Hari Raya Idul Fitri 1431 H

• Monday, September 13, 2010 – Shared Holiday by Government Decree

• Wednesday, November 17, 2010 – Idul Adha 1430H

• Tuesday, December 7, 2010 – Islamic New Year 1432 H

• Wednesday, December 8, 2010 – Hari Raya Galungan

• Saturday, December 18, 2010 – Hari Raya Kuningan

• Friday, December 24, 2010 – Shared Holiday by Government Decree

• Saturday, December 25, 2010 – Christmas Day

Calendar of Events Courtesy: Bali Discovery